Home Chat General Chat

Newbie with very limited time to train

Hi everyone

I am a complete newbie to triathlon and I've set myself the challenge of completing 4 sprint distance triathlons this year. A little about me - I am a former 'club' level squash player, but haven't played or done anything fitness wise in approx 18 months. I'm not able to commit to play competitive squash anymore, so thought that triathlon would give me the competitiveness I require from a sport, whilst not having to commit to teams / someone else to play against etc.

I am 34 years old, married and have a 9 month old daughter - so time to train is limited (no more than 3x week). Most of the training plans I've seen, seem to be based around 5 or 6 days training per week - mixing up the disciplines. Is it too simplistic to devote each session I can do to a different discipline or should I focus on my weaker area (running)?

I'm a bit confused as to where to start!  

Comments

• gavinpgavinp Posts: 168

Hi Steve

If three times a week is all you have to work with then so be it.  But, there are other ways to train:  If you are only a few miles from work or you commute by train, you could easily turn that journey to the train station or the couple of miles commute into a training session - whether it be a run or bike (or swim the way the weather has been lately!). Even if you are 10 miles or so away that's a nice bit of bike training right there (though you'll probably only want to do that 1-2 times a week to start then build up from there).  You could even do some strength and conditioning at home: lunges while getting the little one to sleep for instance.  It's basically about working your training into your everyday life.