Home Training for a Triathlon

Where to start with a diet plan?...

Hi all, I'm a novice triathlete having only completed one Triathlon - Tha London Tri last year. I'm still training but finding that my diet or lack of it is really hindering my progress, however whenever I've looked into diet they seem very confusing and tbh I really dont want to get really complex and make life difficult but I do acknowledge that diet is something I should be considering. So my question is where do I start?Where are there any basic plans to start? Also sorry if this post is littered with errors as my phone doesnt always show all of the text area....

Comments

• HarryDHarryD Posts: 425

A diet (noun) is what you eat to live. In triathlon we try and sound so superior by calling it 'nutrition'. To diet (verb) is what you do to loose weight

Very few triathletes need more than what could be called a 'traditional' balanced diet. Maybe just a little more than sedentary folk though

The latest 220 has a section of nutrition which is a good place to start

If you want to go into it deeper have a look at 'Sports Nutrition' by Anita Bean. Highly recommended although my 5th edition is out of date regarding hydration

HarryD

• Thanks HarryD. Please excuse my novice terms ..

I suppose that when it comes to my personal training and excercise regime nutrition has never been a real consideration - I think because maybe I have built it up to be something that it is not, a complicated science, what with pre, post and mid excercise nutritional intake, eat this and not that I just seem to glaze over