Home Chat General Chat

Talkback: 220 rallies for racers after Vachery, Xterra cancellation

This is a good start but not many options for us mere mortals wanting to do a standard distance. This was going to be my move up triathlon from sprint. To be honest, I would just quite like my money back!

Comments

• I completely agree with you Beth. Why can't we just get our money back? Brave Events must have made a bit of a packet, considering the middle distance cost £130 to enter. It is almost like a rogue trader in my opinion.
  • What happens if all the race organisers start cancelling their events? Everyone will loose hundreds of pounds. Surely there must be some kind of "insurance" against this?

• Hi Beth. I appreciate your position and it's not one I'd argue with. The piece above is written entirely independently of Brave Events. I'm not a race organiser, I'm a journalist, and my aim was to try and provide some assistance to people looking for alternatives. Of course, it relies purely on the goodwill of other organisers. In terms of short course racing, nice-tri.co.uk have Super Sprint through to Standard in St Neots in May, June and August, Tri for Love runs in Leatherhead in June, Steelman and Stowe triathlons in July, Stowe in north Bucks in July and triathletes entering the competitions for Blenheim and London will have fair chance of success given it's restricted to those with Vachary/XTERRA proof of purchase. If more race organisers would like to come on-board we will keep the page open for offers.
  • BethBeth Posts: 3
    Thanks Tim- I can see how that came across as me being annoyed with the article- of which I wasn't, just frustrated at the situation. It's not the cheapest hobby at the best of times! Thanks very much for highlighting some other options for standards. I've been sat with the 2014 events guide for the last hour and finding many things sold out, so I'll take a look at your recommendations. Keep us posted for more! Cheers