Home Training for a Triathlon

Whey Protein

Hi,

I cycle to work and back, which is a 25 mile round trip, and then go to the gym or swimming in the evening. At present I don't take protein shakes but am wandering if I should be taking shakes to aid recovery? I feel tired quite a lot of the time, taking rest days has helped but hasn't solved the issue completely. Thoughts?

Comments

• risris Posts: 1,002

how many days a week? how long have you been doing it?

i've been riding nearly the same commute for 5-6 years and i'm not sure i could regularly do 5days a week, with run/gym/swim as well. i'd be bollocksed all the time. 

part of it is adaption - i started with 2-3 days and worked up from there. i was tired a lot and eventually it phased out. if i batter the ride every time, or even every other day, then i can feel it later in the week. even now i do 3 days, have a day 'off' (take the car, bring clothes to the office) and then the other day is on its own. i do a heavy swim session on the 'off' day (and if i am going to do an interval or tempo run then i do it that day too).

• James8011James8011 Posts: 44

I use proteins as a boost, some can be heavy on the gut though. 

And just remember to watch dosage.

a) do you want to look like a Body builder

b) your body can absorb about 25 grams per 2 hours- the remaining amounts smell worse than a rotten goat.

• DDTTRIDDTTRI Posts: 21

If you are sticking to simple whey protein you shouldn't bulk up. I would recommend spending more on a product rather then the Holland and barret or GNC own brands. I saw an interesting article on own brand cheap protein and its cross contaminated with so much junk from the cheap factories it is made in. I'd also recommend going online to buy it, much cheaper then store. MonsterSuppliments is a reliable store.