Home Training for a Triathlon

Complete Newbie

Im 25 years old, and have been fairly active throughout my life but have never excelled at any one sport. I am still carrying a little excess podge from 5 years at uni studying for a veterinary degree, and I would say my current fitness is average.

I am really keen to get into Tri but I have noticed that a lot people who take up tri tend to come from a relatively high level of a single sport discipline - half marathon/marathon runners etc. I have only ever ran 10k, I am a fairly fit cyclist as it was my only mode of transport last year and I couldn't really swim until a month ago. 

I am really working on my swimming and can now swim 1250m with small breaks. I have had back pain so my chiropractor has told me to have a rest period from cycling and running for another couple of weeks but they were coming along nicely as-well.

I am just wondering if there is anyone else out there in the same boat as me or if I am expecting too much from myself? The first Tri event I want to do is next June and I am going to try to fit in a couple of winter duathlons in the new year. 

Comments

• risris Posts: 1,002

hello sarah jane - glad to see you are interested in tri!

i really wouldn't worry about your sporting background and how you compare with others - my experience of the sport is that it isn't for ex-club swimmers and decent club runners. there is a huge diversity in the sport and there are lots of people taking part at races who have no athletic or sporting background but love the challenge.

depends on the races you are looking at, but the first tri i did was a local pool sprint and there were two or three times as many old racers, shopper bikes, hybrids and mountain bikes as there was posh road or tri bikes. the racers themselves came similarly varied in age and sizes.