Home Chat Race Chat

Tri debut options

Greetings one and all!

I want to make my debut in triathlon this year and I find myself torn between two sprint-distance options, namely Steyning and Arundel in May with Chichester in July pencilled in and underlined as a follow-up.

The question I'd like to ask is which might be a better option for a total newbie? - Steyning is slightly shorter on the cycle and run elements while Arundel is apparently more picturesque and relaxed while both have notional down sides too which is why I'm struggling to make a decision.

Additionally, would it be possible (or advisable) to do both if I really couldn't choose? Or would going from beginner to two events in a month leave me hobbling around like John Wayne with Deep Heat on his nethers for June?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Andrew4Andrew4 Posts: 190

Hi

First of all, welcome to the world of triathlon. I am sure whichever race you choose will be enjoyable.

I presume you mean the Arundel Lido tri in May (the river swim full event is in September this year). As both are pool swims in many respects its up to you. I grew up in that area so I can't imagine their is substantial differences in course profile so I'd be inclined to go for a more scenic route.

Unless you are dead set on a pool swim (open water is far far more fun than most people would have you believe) then have you thought about venturing slightly further afield to Eton Dorney, Human Race Events have some action on the last two weekends in May and its a fun, fast and beginner friendly place to race (although as a multilap course it does lack a touch on the scenery front)?

I probably wouldn't do your first two in quick succession mainly for two reasons:

1. There is a John Wayne risk as a newbie - and you never quite know how your body will respond and how much recovery time you will need