Home Training for a Triathlon

Struggling with Cycling

Hi Everyone, 

So I am training for my triathlon in May, which I know isn't that far away but am really struggling with the bike training. I am a complete newbie to biking as have always been a runner. My bike seems to be fine and is on the smaller cog when i change gears ( hope this makes sense) and I am struggling to do six/seven miles which, reading these comments and threads is no way near what i need to be doing! Where I live is exteremly hilly but, even so i dont think i should be struggling this much! (I can run about 5 miles with ease, and swim quite well). Any ideas would really be helpful! 

Comments

• HarryDHarryD Posts: 425

May, couple of suggestions:

Firstly check that the bike is set up correctly for you. If in doubt get a bike fit

Secondly ride steadily until you can put some miles in. You don't say how much effort you are putting in but there is no need to go hard/flat out until you have built a cycling endurance base. It takes a while for your legs to learn how to cycle effectively especially if you are a long time runner

HarryD

• Side stepping the set-up issues above (very important though - best double check seat position etc. ) and moving on to the actual riding, you say you're more of a running and not really done much riding, well there is one trick which helped me no end on when I ride across the country.