Home Gear Triathlon Gear

First tri bike

I'm looking to buy my first tt bike. I'm looking to spend around ??2000. I'm a bit bogged down by all the options, I know I need to try a few and fully intend to do so. However, I've never ridden a tt bike before so general advice (not from a salesman) would be appreciated, especially as some if the 2015 models haven't really been reviewed anywhere. Options so far are Felt da4 2014 - ??1950 Felt b12 2015 -??1999 Giant trinity 2015 -??1999 Cannondale slice 2015 ??1999 Cannondale slice 2014 ??1700 The giants in there as my lbs sells them and I know they're good for fitting and post purchase help, but I can't find much about the trinity online. Any advice at all would be useful

Comments

• I am no expert at all on the subject of triathlons having only decided to take them up this year. But I have gone through the first-bike thing so I'll pass on what I did.

I decided to bite the bullet and pay for a proper fitting using the GURU/F.I.S.T system (electronic rather than manual) from this company - http://www.ten-point.co.uk/bike-fitting/ . This was about £250 but I prefer doing this right the first time and so paid for the service. I was presented with results for the most efficient and comfortable tri-bike setup for my body, and also the recommended frames and manufacturer's that suited me. 

• Your best option straight up is to go and ride them... the biggest issue i had was finding somewhere that stocks a few. Tredz seem a decent option as they list a number of those that you mention.... equally Evans Cycles might be worth a look as the Fuji Norcom and BMC TM02 also hit your budget.

Don't discount the online options from Dolan, Planet-X etc too....