Home Gear Triathlon Gear

HELP: New Wheels or Aerobars?

Hello all,

First time poster here so I hope I don't fall foul of any forum etiquette here. I recently completed my second Sprint Tri and have 3 more lined up this summer.

I'm a beginner who's really keen on improving. My biggest weakness is on the bike. I have a Specialized Allez Sport which is great for me as a newbie to the sport.

But I wanna be faster in the saddle and I've been advised to get new wheels that are lighter and spin for longer - at around £450 budget - or even a cheaper alternative, aerobars, to combat the wind. It was a cycle shop chap who recommended the wheels and a semi-pro triathlete who suggested the tri-bars ..

But what do you all think? Would aerobars look silly on my middle of the road bike? ... And what would help more, being super aero, or quicker wheels?

All advice appreciated 

#SwimBikeRun

Comments

• If you want to be faster on the saddle the first thing is to train for it. Investing in aero bars or wheels are the icing on the cake!

Don't just get out on your bike and expect to get faster. Like running and swimming  training needs structure and goals. Yes have one long ride a week but you need to include technique sessions and speed sessions. Entering local club time trials is great practice for riding fast. Spinning sessions can be useful too. The longest part of any tri is on the bike but generally triathletes aren't great at training properly.

Good luck.

• WimpiefuryWimpiefury Posts: 1

If you want to buy  one of those 2 things. I would go for the aero bars to start with. The position wil make you more aero but also  gives you more strenght coming from your back so you ll go a bit faster. Clip ones are also a cheaper upgrade than aeo wheels.

• Andrew4Andrew4 Posts: 190