Home Gear Triathlon Gear

Transition gear

Hello, I'm new to the triathlon scene and looking to get set with the necessary kit. Transition seems a bit of a daunting prospect at the moment, and with the "slight" OCD that I may (or may not) have, I like all my things to be organised. Just trying to find out what people use to organise their personal transition area, and are there any really good rucksacks available?

Comments

• It's a good question and it depends on two things:

1. What type of tri are you doing ie Sprint in a pool or HIM in open water

2. Personal preference

Typical layout for me (back to front of towel) would be:

Talced running shoes with a sock in each, hat

Talced bike shoes with a sock in each,  glasses, gloves, helmet

I was thinking about doing a post with pics etc if that would be useful?

I've got a checklist here: http://triathlondaddy.com/race-day-kit-lis/

• Andrew4Andrew4 Posts: 190

Edward - my set up is a bit different and is as follows.

Starting with the bike:

Helmet upside down on tri bars, straps dangling out and orientated so that facing it the helmet rotates straight onto the head

Inside helmet - glasses (on the bottom), race belt (with number) open and laid on top, socks on top

Red towel on tip of tri bars (dual purpose of ID and drying hands as required)

Bike shoes clipped into pedals.

To the right (always the right as like most people I run out non-drive side of my bike) towel with space for feet drying... run shoes on back of towel with bottle of lucozade next to them (for Olympic and more)

So that's my transition zone, at present I take a duffle to race day but before the season starts I intend to get a set of Kit bricks to make organisation of kit easier pre and post race.

• So far all the events I've done have been split transition ones, with T1 andT2 in seperate places.. 

T1

• Helmet on the tribars, straps out and pointing in the right orientation to flip  it on to your head.