Home Chat General Chat

International Ironman Advice?

Hi All,

I'm a newbie when it comes to Ironman and Triathlon, however I have signed up to my first Ironman (UK) for this July. Over recent weeks I have been reading Martyn Brunts' Accidental Ironman which I enjoyed and it has given me the urge to book an Ironman for 2017 before seeing how I get on at the UK one. The one I am looking at booking is New Zealand and for a number of reasons which include - It's a beautiful country, it's a fast course (from what I've read) and I have family who live not far away from Taupo.

Does anyone have any advice regarding racing overseas? Also any advice with regards to travelling with a bike? (if I book through Skyscanner and I use 2 airlines as part of the change over flights do I pay separately for the Bike carriage?)

The same questions are based around any international travel for races as if I enjoy July then I will be looking to book a 3rd for later in the year 2017.

Thanks for any help  

Comments

• bathtubbathtub Posts: 280
    It's a great experience racing triathlon abroad but can be a nightmare sorting out bike transport mainly because airlines have there own rules for bike transport which differ with each airline.

What looks like a good flight price can soon be bumped up with extra for bike transport so I always check out that airlines bike policy.

I took my bike to Auckland NZ for the 2012 tri world champs . I travelled with my wife and we used emirates airlines , the baggage allowance was something like 30k per person and provided my bike luggage and our bags came within that 60k allowance my bike went free,after all my race kit and bike was packed it meant my wife had to take minimal clothing but we managed it.