Home Gear Triathlon Gear

Do i need a bike Garmin as well?

I am a Tri newbie so i've not had to work this out the hard way yet. I have my first Triathlons coming up this year (Sprint, Classic, HIM) - what do people do with their technology and tracking their efforts?

I have a Garmin Fenix 3 multisport watch which I either have on my arm or attach to the bike's bars for training.  In a race do you tend to track it all via your watch (attaching and detaching it to your bike) or do you also need a Garmin on the bike and then at T2 just leave it there, press "lap" on the watch and then carry on with that?

I'm worried i haven't got enough toys

Comments

• BoothyBoothy Posts: 6

I use a Garmin vivoactive on my arm throughout the race. But it's impossible to see on the bike so I need something else. I'm not wasting time taking it off and mounting it on the bike, so I have a simple cycle computer.

I've not bothered with a garmin as I already have the GPS tracking for strava etc on the watch. I just have a Giant Neos (as it works with the Giant ride sense I have built into the frame) so I get current speed, distance travelled and cadence (and HR if I want it).

It gives me all in the info I need while on the bike, without costing too much, but is still wireless

• Andrew4Andrew4 Posts: 190

NO x 1000

I do everything via my 920xt (but I run a quick release so its out front) before that I used a 305 on my wrist and just had a cheapy bike computer for speed and distance.

If you only want something that's easy to see when riding and for current info, i.e. not logging the whole race, then another GPS device is a really expensive way of doing it. You're better of spending money on aero extensions which will actually make you faster (and probably cost less too)

Also top tip - if you want to be able to read your data from your wrist it is a lot easier/actually do-able if you put it on the inside of your wrist, also easier to read in natural running action.