Home Training for a Triathlon

Nutrition - I just can't give up the Maltesers

I've just come to the end of my second season in tri and knowing that I'm in it for the long haul (read obsessed), I've decided to up my game and actually aim to be good at it. I have a coach who is amazing and who keeps me on track. In only eight weeks with him my improvement is almost frightening. 

However, there is something that I'm really struggling with and yet I know will slow my progress down...nutrition. 

I've been running long distance up to marathon since 2007, and now completed five triathlon super sprints. But my weakness has always been that I'm utterly greedy and have always struggled to give up the maltesars, cadbury wispas and cheeky Friday night curry. That said, please don't think my diet is diabolical - I eat a s**t load of fruit and veg, protein (chicken, eggs) and dairy - but I balance it all out with utter rubbish! 

Does anyone else suffer with their nutrition?? Please don't say I'm the only chocolate addict in the tri community...

Thanks!

Hayles

Comments

• Hi Hayles,

Anyone that follows me on Twitter will know I'm a fellow Maltesers addict.... So you're not alone!

You say you eat a lot of healthy food too and you seem to have a good knowledge of what you should and shouldn't be eating. So I guess the question is how much are your treats affecting your training? If you're hitting your training/racing goals, are a healthy weight for you and your weight is remaining constant, then maybe you're not doing as badly as you think. After all, we earn the odd treat training so hard!

We run a monthly diet analyis page in 220, if you'd be keen to be a case study and have dietician Nigel Mitchell offer you some advice? Just email me: helen.webster@immediate.co.uk

• Andrew4Andrew4 Posts: 190