Home Gear Triathlon Gear

Garmin heart rate swim/run/tri straps

Hi, I'm looking at buying a Garmin 735XT watch and am wondering whether to buy the tri and swim hrm straps too.  I have an older hrm strap which should be compatible for running and cycling, but I have a couple of questions..

1) is there real benefit from getting swim hrm data.. and how do you interpret it as it's not "live" during the swim?

2) are the advanced metrics such as vertical oscillation and ground contact time useful or just interesting data points?!

I'm fairly new to triathlon, doing and training for standard distance events for the moment, want the kit to be suitable for maybe moving onto half irons but nothing more.

Many thanks in advance for any help!

Luke

Comments

• Andrew4Andrew4 Posts: 190

1) Swim stuff - you can analyse it afterwards and where I guess it does give you a theoretical benefit is heart rate vs pace and gives you something other than perceived exertion to base your performance gains on... i.e. did I do that 100m faster because I worked harder or because I am fitter but debateable how much you really benefit.