Home Training for a Triathlon

Absolute Beginner

i am looking to compete in my first sprint triathlon in the spring of next year but quite naively I have some questions How do you attach your race number from one discipline to another Swim/bike/run and Do I need a tri suit just wondering what to wear? Would a tri suit have padding for bike and should I get elastic aged laces? Etc 

just trying to understand everything apologies if this all sounds silly but never raced before 

also if anyone can recommend a good Triathlon to try in April in the Home Counties I live in Essex

Comments

• You don't need a tri suit per se but it does mean that you don't have to faff about with putting on cycle/run shorts and a top in T1 and/or 2. The suit should (will) have adequate padding to protect your unmentionables for the ride, the trick is to train in it so you're used to the sensation as it might feel slightly 'bulbous' when running, especially after the swim segment.

Your best bet for race numbers is to buy a race belt which is an elasticated band with plastic buckles which clips around your waist to which you attach your race number via two cords which each have a stopper. You pop that on in T1, wear it around your back for the bike leg and your front for the run. Failing that you can use the waistband of a pair of underpants and some safety pins to effect the same thing. You'll be body marked for the swim so need not worry about that.

Elasticated laces are much quicker than tying your own and don't come undone so I would definitely recommend them.

• Hey Mark,

we've been blogging about our first year in triathlon (link below). Started with a couple of sprints and then finished with an olympic a few weeks ago. We're hooked

You can get a simple race belt for a few pounds to afix your race number too. makes it easy to switch around on the bike and run.