Home Training for a Triathlon

Beginner with an end goal of Ironman!

Hi all, 
I am 31 years old and have set myself the target of completing an ironman by the time I am 40. 
I have never competed in a triathlon, although I am a fairly strong runner and cyclist but weak swimmer. I have a good level of fitness and strength performing CrossFit 4-6 times a week as well as yoga twice a week. As a complete novice I am looking for any training and equipment essentials from people. 
What equipment is essential? 
Will a wetsuit help my buoyancy? 
What sort of training should I start to incorporate and what events should I be participating in as a beginner? 

Sorry if these questions are simple but any help would be really appreciated!

Comments

• Do you have a local Tri club - I would join that before investing in much kit

You may want to get a Turbo Trainer as lots of Tri Clubs will do weekly turbo sessions over the winter

You could do an IM much faster than 9 years, anywhere from 2 to 4 years is realistic.

If you start swim training with a Tri Club, you should be a much more competent swimmer before the start of next season

Will a wetsuit help buoyancy - yes significantly, however, you need to feel confident in your swimming before tackling any open water swims

If you plan to do longer distance triathlons, 70.3 and IM distance, you will probably end up buying a Time Trial bike, as they are faster and cycling position helps your legs after the transition from cycle to run. So you may want to keep your current bike, get some races done and decide what type of bike you want in the future.

Sprints are a good intro, but not really challenging, they are in a pool with a very short swim 400m - 750m, followed by a 20k ride and 10k run. Do a couple early in the season to get a feel for them and then do about 1 Olympic distance per month, and possibly a 70.3 at the end of the season

My training looks like this:

Saturday Parkrun - try to get a PB as often as possible