Home Chat General Chat

GB Age Group - Standard Distance Qualifying Times

GB Age Group - Standard Distance Qualifying Times

I am new to triathlons having only completed a couple standard distance triathlons. I have been doing some reading on GB Age Group qualifying but struggling to understand what would the qualifying times be for a 30-34 year old on the standard - does anyone have an idea? I Understand it is 115% for world champs and 120% for Europeans champs of the winners time in qualifying races, but the time for winners in the qualifiers appears to vary so much - from 2.05 to 2.20.

Both my triathlons were around the 2 hours 44 min mark but I think there is room for progress (maybe 10 minutes overall). I know I won't win, but if there was the opportunity to compete in GB age group, I think it would be a great experience.... 

Comments

• HarryDHarryD Posts: 425
    The qualification is a double header.

Firstly you must come in the top four of those who have put themselves forward for qualification in your age group.

Secondly you must also come within the 115%/120% time. This is because some classes aren't that competitive so you used to get some quite poor competitors.

Unfilled places are offered to those with the lowest % time against the class leaders of the qualifying races.

Winning times vary because there is nothing Standard about Standard triathlons. No two swims, bikes or runs are the same. Which I think is great. Give me a 2:36 Windermere over a 2:16 Ripon any day.

My advice is to give it a go. You may find it easier to qualify for a Sprint rather than Standard and if you can do all the qualifiers you should achieve that Q.
  • matward77matward77 Posts: 9

HarryD has explained it very well. There are limited number of spots for each championship so it's not just a case of meeting a percentage of the winner's time.