Home Gear Triathlon Gear

Bike for first ironman

I am looking to complete a full ironman next year (summer 2018) but wanted to buy a bike this summer do get some miles under my belt. I have been doing xterras for two years now (sprint) and have a fantastic mountain bike. I have never owned/ridden a road bike and so this will be a new adventure for me. I am wondering if anyone has an opinion on a entry level bike that will get me through an ironman? I think I would prefer a road bike as I could then ride it in the winter to train for mountain biking. I would like to stay under $800 and am happy to get something used. Is there a brand/type I should be looking at? Also, I am looking really to just finish, not necessarily be competitive (I'll be 30 next year and it's on my bucket list). Thanks for help!

Comments

• From what you say, I assume you are just going to use the bike for training - including winter training.

Clearly there is masses of choice for road bikes. I have bought couple of great bikes on ebay - one from someone who spent £3500, then added £1200 for some lovely wheels, rode it for 50 miles, then left it in his front room for 18 months before selling for around 25% of what he paid.... these are mid life crisis bikes and can be a bargain. My second bike was a TT bike from a lady who got sponsored after the first 2 events of the season - fantastic bike at 30% of new price.

The most important consideration is fit - make sure that the bike fits well. As a general rule, a good Alu frame is better than a cheap carbon frame, do not rule out an Alu bike.