Home Chat General Chat

Swimming with your iPod

I'm in my 3rd year of triathlon and just moving into week 24 of my 30 week training program for Ironman UK 2007 (Following Don Fink beIRONfit). This is my first Ironman (I've done two half Ironman events) and I've stuck to the plan better than I expected. During the long training my iPod has kept me company on the bike and on the run. I've just started with a company that sells iPod accessories and they do a waterproof system so you can swim with your iPod! If anyone is interested check out www.mp3additions.co.uk and go to "waterproofs".

Comments

• LuckyLucky Posts: 137
    I've got the H20Audio case for the first gen shuffle along with the headphones, makes swimming training a lot better I have to say...
  • DiggerDigger Posts: 3
    Don’t you have to have sepcial earphones also?
  • ironmanironman Posts: 7
    Yes Digger, they sell those to go with the waterproof cases
  • mini__Cmini__C Posts: 44
    To be honest in my opinion swimming with music is not a good idea, cause think about it, when you swim your always tring to improve one your strokes, and with music in the way it just makes you lose focus on what your doing.

And also, you usually pace yourself by listening to your body, hints like breathing rythems and how your body feels gives you an indication on how you pace yourself, but if your listening to say a rock song with a bpm of 120, its bound to mess up with your head.

The same goes with both cycling and running of course..

Chris

• hound doghound dog Posts: 293
    Couldnt agree more with you mini_c, I found myself running to the pace of the music and most of that was house stuff! Found it ok on the bike (and enjoyed the run really) but can imagine it would mess up your stroke on the swim.
  • rpopper65rpopper65 Posts: 171