Home Training for a Triathlon

Garmin connect tri training plans

Hi, has anyone used the training plans that come with garmin connect? They seem to involve a lot of time on heart rate zone 1. I am new to heart rate training but I thought that would be too low and most of the training should be in zone 2. Am I missing something?

Comments

• HarryDHarryD Posts: 425
    Jack, may be worth checking out how Garmin defines its zones, how many there are and how they compare to others. For example Joe Friel has 7 zones, Matt Fitzgerald 5 in his run book and 7 for triathlon. Joe's and Matt's zones aren't the same but come close to agreeing in % terms. This website has published various formula for zones, many of which are incomprehensible. Is not always clear when articles quote zones how those zones are defined, i.e. lack of house style.

The guy who wrote the Garmin Triathlon plans is a well regarded coach but you do need to know how he defines the zones. I understand Garmin use 6 zones on Connect.

Personally I favour Matt's zones as defined in 80/20 Triathlon but have also happily used Joe's.

Cheers, Harry
  • JackjJackj Posts: 6

Thanks Harry, Garmin has 5 zones, based on heart rate, with the top of zone 5 being fixed at 100%. I think the garmin zones are based on max heart rate. z1 50-60%, z2 60-70%, z3 70-80%, z4 80-90%, z5 90-100%.

My problem is that a lot of the garmin tri plan is in z1. If I take garmin's definition of that, then top of z1 is only 101 bpm. Which seems mega low.

If I use Joe's (based on a field test) then his z1 top for me is 123 on a bike, 128 running. That seems much more realistic as an 'easy pace'. I agree Matt's levels aren't that far off Joe's by my calcs.