Home Chat General Chat

Quest to save 50 watts

I have been enjoying triathlons for a few years now and made the leap to a TT bike last year. I am 39 years old and have a healthy competitive streak. As a child/teen i was a club swimmer and have an FTP of around 240 and run 5k in under 21 mins. So i wont be bothering any elite triathletes, but im good enough to have fun and do ok in my age group at local events.

I love the numbers so i want to find some free speed on the bike through marginal gains. Here is plan to gain 50 watts though improved aerodynamics and rolling resistance.

My starting point setup is as follows:

Dolan Scala TT bike, 50mm Mavic cosmic wheels, semi-aero helmet, tri-suit, calf guards, GP4000 tyres, power meter, regular inner tubes, regular number belt, normal 105 chain with wet lube, 175 cranks, regular bottle/cage. 

Proposed changes:

1. aero trisuit - 6w
  2. TT specific helmet -5w
  3. nopinz calf guards - 3w
  4. nopinz aero number belt - 3w
  5. aerocoach disc rear wheel- 6w
  6. aerocoach front wheel - 6w
  7. latex tubes- 2w
  8. corsa speed tyres - 4w
  9. 165 cranks* - 2w
  10. aeria ultimate hydration** - 3w
  11. lowered aeira stem + tighter elbows - 3w
  12. speed waxed chain - 4w
  13. aero wheel skewers - 1w

this makes approx 48 watts of savings. I have estimates the individual wattages as most of the 'claimed' test figures are a lot higher, but are based at 40-45kph. As my cycle legs in a triathlons have previously averaged around 35kph the aero benefits are considerably reduced.

So how much time will i save?? and how much faster will i go??

last season i did most of my sprint triathlons at dorney lake, pan flat but sometimes windy and measures 21.2km. i averaged around 200 watts for the bike leg.