Home Training for a Triathlon

Plans and limiters

I'm probably the millionth person over the years to post about this so I apologise but feel the need.??? I've been looking for a training plan for a sprint triathlon. I have 24 weeks to my first event. It's open water just to add to the complexity. My background is in cycling and racing history is time trialling training about 10hrs a week a long time ago. I've been looking at training plans and am assessing my limiters. I have about 5hrs a week due to family and work commitments that I can shoe-horn training into and maybe a little more close to the event. The only event that can work is 24 weeks away in September "19, My dilemma is this. the engine, is good. my body is ok. I can easily top the sessions endurance wise The plans that I'm seeing seem light. I can easily swim 1500m mixed stroke I can easily run 3 miles (limited to my work lunch hour!) cycling I can ride 3hrs at a strong pace (time constraints again) Endurance wise I could do the distance/time.??? My concern and issue at the moment is the swim. I can't swim more than 50m FC without running out of oxygen (No, I'm not holding my breath) and I'm struggling to resolve this massive problem no matter how much I read and test. I need to get from a gentle 25m FC in a pool to 750m open water swim in 24 weeks. Guidance is what I need and am struggling with finding it. I can swim until the cows come home but not in freestyle. Can you lead me in the right direction please?

Comments

• HarryDHarryD Posts: 425
    Local pools have adult lessons or can do 1:1 sessions. Most tri clubs have coached swim sessions but may expect more than 50m from you but do give them a try.

There have been a number of posts on this forum with some good answers. Have a search
  • HarryDHarryD Posts: 425
    Local pools have adult lessons or can do 1:1 sessions. Most tri clubs have coached swim sessions but may expect more than 50m from you but do give them a try.