Home Training for a Triathlon

Exhaustion/short breath. Bad recovery?

Hello all,newbie looking for some guidance here.Please bear with me for a few paragraphs.

INTRODUCTION. I am a beginner male in my early 40’s, training quite regularly around 5-7 hours a week for the past three months (have always been moderately training for other sports before that, never a smoker/couch potato). Have been running quite a bit in the past. My best on half marathon is 1h46; on 5k 24’.

I successfully competed in a sprint Tri (my first ever) about three weeks ago, 1h27. Nothing spectacular but getting in the groove. After the race I was exhausted, which sort of felt normal.

RECOVERY AND EXHAUSTION. Right after that race I basically did not train for a week, trying to recover, but also had to face a tough work/travel schedule for a business trip; 4 days after the race I took off - 6 flights over the following 4 days, plenty of jetlag. I have felt exhausted ever since.

Upon my return home from the business trip I tried to sleep, eat well, recover. But no success. For 2 days, my pulse would not go below 100 (my regular rest HR has been around 48 for the last couple months). Took a couple pain relief pills. The pulse ultimately went down; but I continued to feel a sense of compression on my lungs, uneasy breathing even at rest, and in the following days, when running I would almost immediately run out of breath, could not run beyond a few hundred yards.