Home Chat General Chat

Absolute Beginner !

Hi All !

I have decided to try the sport and start training ! I am an absolute beginner, and would be extremely grateful for any hints on tips on getting started.

Does anyone know of any good Triathlon Personal Trainers in the London area ?

I have never run a marathon or a long distance race ... I have very little cycling experience, and can swim (front crawl) approx 3-4 lenghts before I am totally out of breath ! :-)

Thanks in advance for you help !

Comments

• NickNick Posts: 66
    hi II. i would recomend that you also have alook on tritalk lots of coach/training advice. cheers nick
  • I am no expert and this is my first season too but if I was to offer some suggestions, they are as follows...

Don't get hung up on times or specific techniques just yet. Get in the pool as often as you can and start to build your stamina and your confidence - after 2 to 3 weeks, you should be able to knock out 15-20 lengths no drama but don't try to go too fast. At this stage, it's all about rhythm and a good stroke - the speed will come later. If you want a good headstart, get the £35 SwimSmooth DVD - I did and it has transformed my swimming!

Cycling - again, just get on the bike and knock out some miles. I probably do not have good technique but I have based this summer's training on working on general fitness by cycling as often as I can.

Running - very important to start off slowly. Do some gentle 20 min runs to get you started then increase these gradually. I really like running but get a bit bored (and knackered!) after an hour but you won't have to do more than 5-10k to start with (unless you are a complete masochist and fancy a 70.3 or full Ironman as your first race!) so forget trying to do 15+ miles.