Home Chat General Chat

Wimbleball Bike Route

RobRob Posts: 209
If anybody is doing the 70.3 at Wimbleball you might find this useful.

I managed to get down to Exmoor & reccy the bike route from the comfort of my car. I'm new to Tri but not a novice cyclist. I have a background of mountain biking so I know what a hill looks like. Unfortunately I didn't do Longleat last year so am unable to compare the two courses. Wimbleball though, looks 'challenging'. These notes were made as I was driving round, & I intend to go back & do the course on the bike, when it gets a bit warmer (what a woose!).

You can split the course broadly into four sections:

1. A climb from the Lake to the B3224 - gets steeper as you go

2. B3224 - good new surface in places. Undulating & fast.

3. Turning off the B3224 it's (overall) downhill with a very long, tricky descent to the A396 (v. steep at the bottom - caution on bend). It continues downhill to Exebridge where you turn at the octagon shaped house (I reckon the low point of the route)

4. Then it's up, up, up. Then down. Then up; I have a note it's a 14%er up after Morebath. At the junction of the road for Skilgate there's a long steep climb to Haddon Hill & a 1:6 down to Upton, another drag up, & back down to the lake.

If it's a wet race beware, I noticed the roads were very muddy in places. There were also sheep grazing loose by the side of the road - you wouldn't want to hit one. Unless you had some mint sauce flavoured gels maybe.

Hope this is of some help.

Comments

• pacrfishpacrfish Posts: 266
    Hi

Thanks for the info. I entered for 70.3 before I saw the bike route and am now very worried - I don't do hills!! What do you reckon you'll be able to average over the course? Which is likely to be the worst bit? Are there any areas that are likley to be difficult in a strong wind (I don't do wind either!!). I'm doing this for charity so I need to be able to cross the finish line one way or another!

Thanks