Home Chat General Chat

smaller chain ring or new groupset?

I am still recovering from 2 bouts of knee surgery and progressing well. However I am still finding hills a challenge- I drop into lowest gear almost immediately I hit an incline to "save" the knees. My aim when riding is to spin at 80-90rpm- but can't do this on hills of course. If I revert to my previous methods of muscling up the hills and thrashing the knees then I will only damage them again. I keep looking to change down but realise I've gone as low as I can! When I bought my bike the technician there put one larger cog on the cassette to help me but I still feel it is not enough. I am riding a Scott CR1 Team carbon road bike with 105 groupset. Decided to go for a more expensive frame, with the idea of upgrading gears later if needed but not really wanting to change the whole set. Is it possible to replace that larger cog with an even bigger one or does the whole lot have to be changed? Sorry I'm not a bike techie as you can tell!

Any suggestions appreciated. [:D]

Comments

• TTX PROTTX PRO Posts: 225
    Yes it is posible to change your outer chainring.T.A Shimano and FSA all do chainrings.first of all we need to establish what current chainring you are using.is it a 52t or 53t chainring.
  • Well TTX PRO if you read "piglets" original thread they are asking about climbing gears and larger sprockets, not larger chain rings.

What is your gearing at the moment piglet?

Whats your biggest sprocket at the back and your smallest chain ring at the front?

Yes it may be easier and better go smaller on the inner chain ring as this will keep a more even spread of gears rather than changing the sprockets as you may end up with an addition jump between say third and fourth. That way you can easily change it back to your current ring / gearing for flatter courses too.

Heres a link to the gear chart on the Cycling Time Trials site which should help you see your options.