Home Chat General Chat

What do you wear in the wet and cold? (Cycling)

Hi

I'm still quite new to cycling, only started in Jan, and since Fall and winter is comming very soon, I've been looking at cycling clothes, but bit confused on what I should get. I'll be going to Heriot watt Uni (Scotland) next year and not sure how BAD the weather up there is like, but sure is damn cold. Was wondering what kind of waterproof tight fit jackets you would reccomend, or is there such thing as a water proof long sleeve base layer or jersey? What about tights etc....

Thanks

Chris

Comments

• tony btony b Posts: 57
    Hi Chris

I usually make sure my extremeties are protected and work back from that. A thin hat or headband that covers the ears is essential in cold weather. I really like the headbands because they let out some heat through the topb of your head. Both can be worn under a helmet easily. Ski-type gloves (not leather and not too cumbersome) work well; there's loads of choice here. I don't need to wear cycle mitts under these, but you might need to check for fit in case. Overboots are brilliant - again, make sure they fit over your cycle shoes and that they're not too bulky. If they are they tend to rub on the cranks which is annoying. I've just got a pair of neoprene and they keep your feet like toast.