Home Chat General Chat

running after cycling

I've only taken up triathlon this year and really struggle with keeping up a good pace on the run when getting off the bike. This is probably very common but does anyone have any training tips to help me overcome this?

Comments

• MikeyBMikeyB Posts: 135
    Practice!

It's unpleasant making your legs go from a pedalling motion to a running one but like most things it is easier if you practice it. Try going for a short run after your bike sessions or plan some combined bike/run sessions. It does get easier eventually.

Mike
  • It's my first year too. As MikeyB says, practice helps. Someone recommended short sharp sessions - such as 5k bike and 1k run, and doing that 3 times in a row. It helps practice your T2 and gets your legs used to the horrible feeling.

Aside from the legs, practicing helps get the right pace when you start the run. When I borrowed a GPS I found out that my pace off the bike was way too fast - which meant that after 5-10 minutes I was having to stop and walk as I had a massive oxgen deficit!

best of luck

matt
  • zoezoe Posts: 28
    I generally have two types of brick session.

Firstly, a long run after my weekly long cycle, all really low intensity and done all year round.

Secondly, just before and during race season, short sharp sessions like Matt suggested. We do 8-10 mins on the turbo at level 4 followed by 2km or 1km at race pace.

Unfortunately however much practice you do it still hurts!
  • Hi

As above practice...it still hurts but you will go faster.

I don't know if you use a gym but for me this is a convenient way to fit in 'brick' training. I often do spin classes and then run on the treadmill for five to fifteen minutes, with the gradient at 2 or 3.

There's nothing like the real thing though so a proper bike then run is still best.