Home Chat General Chat

Convert Mountain Bike

you will have gathered from the title that I'm a complete novice and I have yet to do my first triathlon. However, I've started my preparations and I now need to start getting my equipment sorted. I don't have much money to throw around and I wondered whether it was possible to put road wheels/tyres on my mountain bike until I can afford a road bike? Also, can anyone tell me the difference between a normal road bike and a triathlon bike?

thanks

Comments

• husslerhussler Posts: 237
    Hey Martin,

You can get some road tyres for your exsisting wheels on your mountain bike, ie just replacing the knobbly tyres for smoother ones. But as far as i know you cant put road bike wheels on a mountain bike. This will help greatly as a starting point before upgrading to a ride bike...hope this answers the first bit for you.

Now for the differences between road and tri bikes.....

You will notice the main differences just by looking at them both..

1) Tri bikes have aero/tri bars with gear levers on the ends of the tri bars, this is so you dont disrupt the aero position the tri bikes put you in when using the tri bars to change gear.. road bikes have the curly handlebars, and the gear levers are integrated into the brake levers.

2) The seat post angle is steeper on a tri bike and the top tube is generally shorter. This gives you a more aggressive riding position to get you as Aero as poss and deliver power and efficiency to the pedal stroke whilst in the 'Aero'.

3) Tri bike frames are alot of the time shaped and curved slightly different than road bikes. This is to improve Aerodynamics etc

At the moment i cant think of much else but im sure someone else could go into it alot deeper than i have...