Home Training for a Triathlon
Options

My First Tin Man and Iron Man Next Year

Hello,

My name is Justin and I am new to the Triathlon community! This summer I have done 2 sprints so far, I have a duathlon this Saturday (It was supposed to be my first Olympic Distance, but the event was canceled ), and I am doing an Olympic Distance Relay next Sunday. 

ABOUT ME AS IT MIGHT HELP YOU ANSWER THE QUESTIONS

I am 30 years old. In high school, I was very competitive. I was in football, track, cross country, and wrestling. I was in the best shape of my life. 

During college, I packed on the pounds. I  graduated and packed on more pounds. I am 5'11" and went from 170 lbs in high school to 240 lbs 2 years ago. I had an extremely low self esteem. Then, something tragic happened, and I spent a lot of time feeling sorry for myself. Then, one day I said enough is enough. I went for a swim at our local YMCA. As I was swimming laps, I started to visualize myself completing an Ironman. 
I looked up a training plan for an olympic distance tri. I have now completed that plan and a couple Sprints along the way. I absolutely love the tri community and what a perfect sport to improve myself both physically and mentally! I am definitely the kind of guy, that when I set a goal, I commit 100%. I'M HOOKED!  I'm now down to 210 lbs with a goal of hitting 185 by June, 2019.
I'd be lying if I said I didn't have a chip on my shoulder, but that is a large part of what drives me. Ironman is my way of proving to myself and others that I have something to be proud of! I love setting goals as they keep me moving forward in life. 

NOW FOR MY QUESTIONS:

So, thanks for reading this far. Here are some questions I have.

FIRST QUESTION - AM I OVEREXERTING MYSELF?
I am very ambitious. I understand the need for recovery. That being said, I planned out next year's events. Is it a bad idea to run a sprint triathlon 7 days before a Half-Ironman?