Home Training for a Triathlon
Options

Run Not Improving

Hello everyone. I am brand new to triathlon after watching the Tokyo Olympics and I've been obsessed ever since after wanting to compete in something again. This has been my first full year of training so far and I've been steadily improving my bike and swim but for some reason my run just is not improving I feel like it should be. I've been focusing on the 5K and 10K distances but eventually I want to get to the 70.3 distance but I think I'm looking WAY ahead with that. My 10K PB I just set last weekend in a training session with a 50:50 which beat my previous best of 54:12 from over 4 years ago. My 5K PR was set earlier this year in a charity race with a 24:28. These times are abysmally slow and I don't understand why I am not getting faster. I did one Sprint Triathlon this year and I ended up with a 25:47 5K which floored me at how slow it was. I feel fast but the times just are not adding up. But I did go out hard on the swim at the beginning and I think it may have cost me later.

Just to give some other background I am 36M 6-2 207 lbs. as of today. This time last year I was almost pushing 230 so I have lost weight. I was a NCAA Division I High Jumper in college around 15 years ago where I was 170 lbs. Even though I gained close to 60 lbs. I still don't think I was ever fat. It's just I'm bigger and heavy if that makes any sense. I was NEVER a distance runner. I think the longest I ever ran in HS and college was my mile warmup. So I'm not sure if I just don't have the aerobic capacity for these distances. It just seems like wizardry to me to see these people running like 16:00 5Ks and 35:00 10K in a triathlon race after biking and swimming.